Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring



Pig & Goose and the First Day of Spring
By Rebecca Bond
Charlesbridge, 2017. Easy reader. 48p.

On the first day of spring, Pig makes a nice picnic for herself by the pond and meets Goose. Pig admires Goose’s flying and swimming abilities and is disappointed when her efforts to imitate him fail. But when Pig invites Goose to a spring party, we learn that Pig has some very amazing talents of her own.

This beginning reader book is a lovely start to a new animal friendship duo in the tradition of Frog and Toad. It has a very nostalgic feel, with a safe and friendly world, gentle humor, warm companionship, lots of time spent in nature, and small setbacks being overcome by a sincere and joyful outlook on life. The pastoral watercolor illustrations are soft and dreamy, and the text is simple but by no means simplistic. A great choice as a very early chapter book or as a read-aloud.

No comments: