Thursday, July 29, 2010

Dragonblood Series

Dragonblood Series
by Michael Dahl; illustrated by Federico Piatti
Stone Arch Books, c2009, 2010. Intermediate chapter books.

Each entry in the Dragonblood series contains a story about a young person who has an unusual dragon-shaped birthmark. As the kids grow up they discover they have certain strange abilities that seem to be connected to the birthmark. There is no need to read this series in any particular order. Each book has a fabulous cover as well as colorful and engaging interior illustrations. The text is sparse yet tells a complete story. This series is a fabulous find for boys of all ages, particularly reluctant readers. Girls might like it too, but it is definitely geared towards boys.

No comments: