Friday, October 2, 2009

The Amaranth Enchantment

The Amaranth Enchantment
By Julie Berry
Bloomsbury, 2009. 308 pgs. Juvenile/young adult fiction.

After her parents pass away suddenly, Lucinda is swept from her wealthy, comfortable existence into the life of a drudge in her relative's jewelry shop. When a mysterious stranger brings in a beautiful gem to be repaired, Lucinda's life takes a surprising turn in which she befriends the Amaranth Witch. A thief and a prince also play important roles in her new life, bringing both pain and happiness as well as uncovering her bright, unconquerable spirit and inner strength. Through her following adventures, Lucinda life, as well as the lives of those closest to her, are all changed forever.

This is a beautiful, enchanting fairy tale based very loosely on Cinderella. I loved the strong characters, particularly Lucinda and Beryl. This book will be a big hit with readers who enjoyed books like Ella Enchanted, Dragon Slippers, and Goose Girl and is an excellent addition to fairy tale literature.

No comments: