Thursday, February 25, 2016

Deadweather and Sunrise

Deadweather and Sunrise
(The Chronicles of Egg #1)
By Geoff Rodkey
G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 2012. Fiction. 296 p.

Thirteen-year-old Egg lives on the stifling island of Deadweather which is inhabited by Egg, his father who owns an ugly fruit orchard, his two violent and cruel siblings, a tutor who knows next to nothing and a large gang of pirates. One day Egg’s father comes home with a preoccupied look on his face, and quickly packs up Egg and his siblings and they set out for Sunrise Island. Soon after their arrival to Sunrise, Egg’s family disappears on a hot air balloon and Egg finds himself living a charmed life for a few weeks with the rich and powerful Pembroke family in their mansion. Egg quickly falls in love with Millicent, the beautiful, wise-cracking daughter of the Pembroke family.

However, Egg’s new lifestyle ends abruptly when someone tries to kill him. Wanted for a murder he did not commit in a land that is not his own, Egg begins to run, and fight, for his life. Relying on his wits, Millicent, and Guts, a slightly deranged, one-handed boy, Egg braves pirates, wild beasts, the ocean and an entire army while discovering a secret surrounding the legendary treasure of the Fire King.

An exciting and fast-paced story full of laughs, heart and thrills, this book is sure to please any reader looking for adventure. A colorful cast of characters including a brave and kind hero bring this story to life. A very successful introduction to the series following Egg and his adventures. Be sure to check out books 2 and 3, The New Lands and Blue Sea Burning. All three books are available in print and on audio disc.

No comments: