Thursday, August 20, 2015

Display: L. M. Montgomery

Among the Shadows
Includes nineteen tales which reveal a darker side of the author.

Anne of Avonlea
Anne is half past 16 and she's ready to begin a new life teaching in her old school. She's as feisty as ever and is determined to inspire young hearts with her own ambitions. But some of her pupils are as boisterous and high-spirited as Anne, and so life in her Avonlea classroom becomes a lesson in discovery and adventure.

Anne of Green Gables
Anne, an eleven-year-old orphan, is sent by mistake to live with a lonely, middle-aged brother and sister on a Prince Edward Island farm and proceeds to make an indelible impression on everyone around her.

Anne of Ingleside
Anne, with five children and another on the way, begins to worry that her adored Gilbert doesn't love her any more.

Anne of the Island
Continues the adventures of Anne Shirley and her friends when she leaves her childhood home behind to begin college.

Anne of Windy Poplars
Anne, a young woman, spends three years living in a boarding school while she is the principal of Summerside High School.

Anne’s House of Dreams
Anne's own true love, Gilbert Blythe, is finally a doctor, and in the sunshine of the old orchard, among their dearest friends, they are about to speak their vows. Soon the happy couple will be bound for a new life together and their own dream house, on the misty purple shores of Four Winds Harbor.

The Blue Castle
All her life, Valancy Stirling lived on a quiet little street in an ugly little house and never dared to contradict her domineering mother and her unforgiving aunt. Then she gets a letter—and decides that very day things need to change. For the first time in her life, she does exactly what she wants to and says exactly what she feels.

Emily Climbs
At Shrewsbury High School, Emily pursues her dream of becoming a writer and is distracted by an unforeseen romance.

Emily of New Moon
When Emily's father dies, leaving her an orphan, she is sent to live with a stern aunt in Prince Edward Island, where her resourcefulness and love of writing help her adjust to a new way of life.

Emily’s Quest
High school has ended for Emily Starr, who must now decide whether to follow her childhood sweetheart, Teddy, to Montreal as he pursues his art career, travel to New York City in pursuit of her own dream to be a writer, or remain at New Moon Farm where, perhaps, she already has everything she needs.

Pat of Silver Bush
The never-changing ways of Silver Bush are of great comfort to Patricia Gardner, but when she develops scarlet fever, copes with her mother's illness, and falls in love, tremendous changes occur.

Rainbow Valley
Anne Shirley is grown up, has married her beloved Gilbert, and is the mother of six. A strange family moves into an old nearby mansion, and the Meredith children join the Blythes in new adventures.

Rilla of Ingleside
Fifteen-year-old Rilla, the daughter of Anne Shirley Blythe, grows from a carefree, irresponsible girl into a strong and capable young woman during war years, 1914-1918.

No comments: