Thursday, August 20, 2015

The Black Reckoning

Cover image for The black reckoning 
Book Three in the Books of Beginning Trilogy
By John Stephens
Random House Children’s Books, 2015. Fiction, 421 p.

The Wibberley siblings, Kate, Michael and Emma, continue their quest to fulfill the ancient prophecy about them and defeat the Dire Magnus by finding the final Book of Beginning, the Reckoning, before he does. Kate and Michael each has become keeper of one of the books and gained the accompanying powers, securing that young Emma is destined to become the keeper of the Reckoning. However, the book also goes by another name: The Book of Death. New and old friends as well as old enemies surface as the Wibberley children journey all over this world, and into other worlds seeking the book and preparing for war against the Dire Magnus. Aided by wizards, giants, dwarves, elves, a dragon and their parents who have been missing for ten years, they embark on their final adventure which proves to be fraught with danger, pain, and death. The Black Reckoning, the third and final installment of John Stephens’ The Books of Beginning, is an exciting conclusion to the epic trilogy. Fans of the series will not be disappointed. If you are looking for a new fantasy series in the same vein as Harry Potter, Percy Jackson or Fablehaven, this series is a worthy option. Be sure to check out The Emerald Atlas and The Fire Chronicle, books one and two in the series.

No comments: